Law no. 2809 dated 30 March 1983 renamed Faculty of Fundamental Sciences as Faculty of Arts and Sciences. Our faculty had continued to provide education services at Şişli- Çağlayan Campus until 2000 when the Davutpasa Campus was assigned to our university. Faculty of Arts and Sciences is the first faculty which was moved to Davutpaşa Campus.  In 2009, some of our departments were moved to our new buildings and by 2013 other departments except Western Languages and Literature started to give education in our new building.


Our Departments:

  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Statistics
  • Department of Western Languages and Literature
  • Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics
  • Department of Turkish Language and Literature
  • Department of Humanities and Social Sciences


The Department of History, founded in 1982, the Department of Philosophy, founded in 2010 and the Department of Sociology, founded in 2014, were merged to the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences in September 2017. The Department of Philosophy and the Department of Sociology continue their graduate programs at the Institute of Social Sciences.